Tags

, , , , ,

When I was growing up, meatloaf was not a common meal in our household. I occasionally had meatloaf at friends’ houses, but that was the extent of my experience with it. I am a big fan of Fatted Calf’s charcuterie, pickled vegetables and cheese selection, but was still a bit weary of trying the 7 x 7 Big Eat List recommended meatloaf sandwich.

I am rarely in Hayes Valley during lunchtime and took the opportunity to head over to Fatted Calf after a work meeting nearby. I was so close to not ordering the meatloaf sandwich but for the sake of crossing it off the list I did.

I am surprised by how much I actually liked it. The meatloaf had a pate-like moistness that I was not expecting- it seemed to be much more meat than loaf (if that makes any sense!). The balsamic onions added a great pickled flavor kick in every bite and the bread pulled all of the ingredients together perfectly.

Want to see what else I have crossed off of the 7 x 7 2012 Big Eat list?

Bar Crudo’s seafood chowder
Kelvin made ice-cream at Smitten
Carnitas at Nopalito
Fried green beans at Coco500
Prime rib at House of Prime Rib
Argentine beef empanada at Venga Empanadas
Dim sum at Ton Kiang
Pizza margherita at Pizzeria Delfina