Tags

, , , , , , ,

It has been awhile since I’ve tackled the list! Ton Kiang’s dim sum has been a high priority for me to try. Growing up, my parents used to take us for Sunday brunch dim sum at least once a month. Unfortunately, my husband doesn’t love dim sum (apparently something about the texture of dumpling shells) so I don’t get my dim sum fix unless out of towners are visiting.

Dim sum is best in larger groups. I went to Ton Kiang with only one other person so we were a bit limited on the amount of dishes to order.

Standouts were the pork buns- regular and steamed. The BBQ pork marination is sweet and mixes well with the softness of the bread.

The dumplings were average. I guess there isn’t much one can do to switch up a traditional dumpling. I recommend getting the shrimp and scallop one if you are picking between choices.

Major Tip- Save room for dessert. Their doughnuts are unbelievable. A great combination of crusty, sugary outside and soft custard-like inside. I would come back for these alone.

Want to see what else I have crossed off the 7 x 7 2012 Big Eat list?

Bar Crudo’s seafood chowder
Kelvin made ice-cream at Smitten
Carnitas at Nopalito
Fried green beans at Coco500
Prime rib at House of Prime Rib
Argentine beef empanada at Venga Empanadas

via canon t2i

