Tags

, , , ,

Amsterdam Falafelshop in Adams Morgan, DC was a recommended must eat spot amongst several former DC residents. I was skeptical- how can you REALLY differentiate a falafel from one small sandwich shop to the next? But AF blows it out of the park.

Starting with the option of ordering a small (2 balls) or large (3 balls) in a white or whole wheat pita, your falafels are cooked on demand. The AF staff then told me to “squash my balls” (yep, no kidding!) to make room for its dressings. You are then given full reigns on their 21 sauce and topping bar. Everything is made in house minus the imported lebanese pickles.

I opted for tons of garlic hummus, tahine, pickled turnips and coleslaw. So good. Dare I say best falafel I have ever tasted? Yes.

The best part is that you can go back for more sauces and garnish as needed. Definitely a great way to try out different topping combinations.

AF is worth the trip to Adams Morgan whether or not you are a vegetarian. Sit outside on their patio and take in the atmosphere- it is one of the best people watching spots in the city.

