Tags

, ,

The other day, my husband played some old film footage his father had sent him of his grandparents’ wedding in 1950. It made me kind of regret not getting a videographer for our wedding. How lucky are they to have colour film of such a special moment in a time when video cameras were so rare!?

My favourite part is watching Jacqueline’s (the bride, my husband’s grandmother) face when she kisses Seymour (the groom, my husband’s grandfather) after the ceremony outside of the North London synagogue. It is such a sweet moment!

Unfortunately I never had the chance to meet either of my “grandparents-in-law”. Sadly, Seymour died just 16 years later of a suspected heart failure in 1966 at the age of 46, leaving Jackie to take care of their 4 young children aged between 5 and 13. Jackie never remarried and passed away peacefully in 2007 at the age of 85.

Family is really important to me, as it is for my husband. I think that is one of the reasons I was initially drawn to him when we were dating.  Treasures like this video are so rare and I can’t wait it to show it our kids (no Mom, not yet!).

