Tags

, , ,

I am a huge Martha Stewart fan- she is my go to for anything recipe or house related. So naturally when I got engaged, I turned to Martha first. Her magazine and website are filled with DIY projects and real wedding inspiration which are great for brainstorming my own ideas. 

Today, I stumbled on a slideshow on her site for wedding cake alternatives. I had mentioned in a previous post that I wasn’t super keen on having a wedding cake as lots of people (including wedding planners) have told me it is a waste of $. Here are some great ideas Martha has as wedding cake alternatives:

Petits fours, white-chocolate dipped strawberries, and handcrafted chocolates

Stack chocolate truffles in a tall tower that’s reminiscent of a cake

Homespun white cupcakes are crowned with fondant hearts cut with a cookie cutter and imprinted with the bride’s and groom’s first initials using a new rubber stamp

In lieu of a wedding cake, a dessert buffet at the reception is laden with sweets from a favorite local bakery. Extra seating cards are calligraphed with the names of the desserts; patterned paper bands and red and blue cotton ribbon trim the cake stands


